Chief Scout Award

The Chief Scout Award is the highest award a Scout can earn. The aim of the Chief Scout Award is to push Scouts out of their comfort zone as they take on new challenges, have new experiences and develop their skills. Completing the Chief Scout Award also entitles the Scouts to receive the Bronze Gaisce Award

A Scout should be in their final year in the section when they begin the Scout Chief Scout Award; however, they must be at least 14 to begin the Award.

  • One Special Interest Badge from the “Skill” Area
  • One Special Interest Badge in the “Physical” Area
  • One Special Interest Badge from the “Community” Area
  • One Special Interest Badge from the “Environment” Area
  • Two Adventure Skills to Stage 4; one Adventure Skills to Stage 6
  • Expedition: Walking 25 -35 km over 2 consecutive days and one night
  • Residential/Intercultural: Shared activity with a group in a residential/camp setting for 4 days and 3 nights, must include an intercultural aspect and a community project

A minimum of 10 months duration.

Note: A Special Interest Badge for the Scout Chief Scout Award must involve at least an hour a week for 13 Weeks for Skill, Physical and Community. Also, an additional 13 weeks must be completed for one of these Badges. The Environment Special Interest Badge should involve a similar a time commitment to the other Badges but it can be spread over a shorter time.

Chief Scout Award (SI)

Mark Graydon2013
Eoin Caffery2013

Chief Scout Award (CBSI)

The Chief Scout Award was the highest award a Scout could get. After working their way through the Pathfinder Award Scheme (The Tracker Award, Explorer Award, Star Scout Award and National Scout Award), Scouts took on a personal project. It is estimated that about only 1 in every 300 Scouts achieve the award.

Eoin McMahon1991
Alan McNamara1991Travel
Eoin Kingston1991CBSI promotion posters
Brian Kenihan1991Architecture (Ideal Scout hall)
Fergal Lynch1991Gold
Shane Riordan1991Meteorology
Seamus Hussey1992
Eamonn Kenihan1993